B&O "Davis" Camelback #305 (#217)
The "Camel" locomotives, which were named for their unique shape and cab location, became a trademark of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad (B&O) during the mid-19th century. The "Camel" became one of the first coal-burning locomotives produced in large quantities. Challenged to design a locomotive that would burn coal more efficiently, Eccentric builder, Ross Winans, created the original design of the locomotive in 1848. , Winans' solution was to construct a large firebox behind the locomotive's mainframe, forcing the engineer's cab to be positioned above the boiler. The "Camel" was designed for productivity rather than for crew comfort. The engineer was often too hot as he sat above the boiler, and faced slim survival chances during a derailment. The fireman was also uncomfortable, as there was little shelter to protect him from the weather. A more critical problem the crew faced was a lack of communication resulting from their separated positions.
No. 305 was built in 1869 right next door at the B&O Mount Clare Shops which are adjacent to the roundhouse which the engine calls home. The locomotive has been displayed at various fairs and exhibitions under various guises. Most likely the previous number, No. 217, that most recognize, was never applied to the current locomotive during its actual operation while in service. Consequently, during a restoration in 2003, the "Memmon" was restored back to No. 305.