A Reading Company Survivor
Reading's Lansdale freight house was built in 1903 and is located one block south of SEPTA's ex-Reading train station along SEPTA's main line to Philadelphia.
The North Pennsylvania Railroad, a Reading predecessor, founded Lansdale in 1872 to accommodate the railway they had built through the area several years prior. They selected its location based on its relation to other large towns; from Lansdale, trains could travel west to Reading, north to Allentown and Bethlehem, and south to Philadelphia. For a town once defined by its status as a railway junction, Lansdale's two stations embody the essence of its history, especially the freight station.
The railroad sold the freight house in the late 1970's and at one point it was being occupied by an auto body repair shop. Overhangs which once extended from the roof were destroyed in the late 1990's. In 2016, the Lansdale Parking Authority purchased the entire property to increase the inventory of parking spots in the borough. A nonprofit named "Discover Lansdale" then self-funded the purchase of the building for $60,000 from the Authority, and signed a 99-year lease with the Authority for the land on which it sits, in effort to preserve a vital piece of Lansdale's heritage. Plans have been in the works to restore it and have it be used for civic events and historical displays.
For more information, photos and to make a donation, visit "Discover Lansdale" by clicking here.