PRR Class B6s 0-6-0 #60
Through the years... As seen in the Summer of 2019. She's been relatively stable over the past 20 years.
This locomotive was donated to the Historic Red Clay Valley and recently moved in 2020 to a siding on the Wilmington & Western adjacent to the paper mill in Yorklyn.
Pennsylvania Railroad 0-6-0 No. 60 was built in December of 1913 by its Juniata Shops. The locomotive is unique for the PRR in that it did not have a Belpaire firebox. No. 60 is missing her sloped back tender and is seen here with a tender from a different PRR locomotive. Rumor suggests that No. 60 worked the 30th St. Station/Penn Coach Yards in Philadelphia, Pa. The locomotive ran until 1952 before being taking out of service leaving her sitting on a siding along the old PRR Conemaugh Division in Acmetonia, Pa near Pittsburgh. No. 60 was purchased by the Cemline Corporation to be used as a stationary boiler, though that plan, but not the purchase fell through. The engine was then purchased by a private owner and was moved to Marshallton, DE in the 1970s for storage where it sat for years on a siding at the Hurcules Research Center. It was put up for sale in 1995 and purchased by Hockessin Businessman, Matt Minker who placed it next to his office building, which was built to look like a freight house, in the town of Hockessin, DE, adjacent to the W&W right of way.
A sister locomotive, PRR No. 1670, a B6sb class 0-6-0 built 3 years later in 1916, survives today and is located at the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania.